National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

C Projects

Six Projects as Main Driving Force of NAOJ

The C projects group consists of the six projects, such as Subaru Telescope, ALMA (NAOJ Chile Observatory), Solar Science Observatory and Nobeyama Radio Observatory, which have been completed as NAOJ facilities and are operating. This project group is the main driving force of NAOJ actively supporting leading edge observations and research.

B Projects

Two Developing Projects for NAOJ’s Future

The B projects group includes two projects that are under construction or being developed. These are expected to undertake NAOJ observations and research in the near future. The Gravitational Wave Science Project is undertaking gravitational wave observations using KAGRA, the large-scale laser interferometer located in Kamioka, Gifu Prefecture, aiming to develop the field of gravitational wave astronomy. The Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT) Project is planning to construct the next-generation large telescope succeeding the Subaru Telescope. With its 30-meter primary mirror consisting of 492 segments and its Adaptive Optics (AO) system, it will achieve a resolution ten times higher than that of the Hubble Space Telescope.

A Projects

Four Projects for NAOJ’s Future

The A projects group is designed and established to foster pioneering research and development (R&D) activities. This aims to encourage the creativity of researchers and create a diverse and advanced R&D environment. Four projects, that are JASMINE Project, the Extrasolar Planet Detection Project, the RISE Project, and the SOLAR-C Project; are classified into the A project group. Each project has selected an ambitious theme, and is performing the R&D that will open the way to a new era of Astronomy.


Three Centers Developing NAOJ’s Strengths

The three Centers exceed the framework of individual projects and play key roles in equipment development/technological research, the numerical simulations, data analysis, data archiving, and public outreach activities. The Centers simultaneously have characteristics of both projects and basic infrastructures of NAOJ.


In April 2019, the Division of Optical and Infrared Astronomy, Division of Radio Astronomy, Division of Solar and Plasma Astrophysics, and Division of Theoretical Astronomy were integrated to form the new Division of Science.